CEAS Faculty

The Center for East Asian Studies acts as a clearing house and coordinating center bringing together an interdisciplinary group of faculty, staff, and students interested in the study of China, Japan, Korea, and Tibet.  CEAS includes more than 70 core and associate faculty members who teach some 240 undergraduate and graduate East Asia-related courses through 30 departments in 6 different schools and colleges.

Faculty (alphabetical)

Jaerin Ahn

Position title: Instructor of Korean

Email: ahn43@wisc.edu

Address:
Office: 1212 Van Hise

Yeohyun Ahn

Position title: Assistant Professor of Graphic Design

Email: yahn27@wisc.edu

Address:
6351 Humanities Building

Larry Ashmun

Position title: Senior Academic Librarian, specialty Southeast Asia

Email: larry.ashmun@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.0344

Address:
Office: 412A Memorial Library

Bernadette Baker

Position title: Professor of Curriculum and Global Studies; Director of Graduate Programs

Email: bbaker@education.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.4657

Address:
Office: 464a Teacher Education

Gilles Bousquet

Position title: Professor; French Chair

Email: bousquet@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.4062

Address:
Office: 734 Van Hise

Gudrun Buhnemann

Position title: Professor

Email: gbuhnema@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5881

Address:
Office: 1234 Van Hise

Kaiping Chen

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kchen67@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.0184

Address:
316 Hiram Smith Hall

Menzie Chinn

Position title: Professor of Public Affairs and Economics

Email: mchinn@lafollette.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.7397

Address:
Office: 7418 Social Science

Peggy Choy

Position title: Associate Professor of Dance and Asian American Studies

Email: pachoy@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.6674

Address:
Office: 125 Lathrop Hall

Ian Coxhead

Position title: Professor

Email: ian.coxhead@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.6390

Address:
Office: 417 Taylor Hall

Charo D'Etcheverry

Position title: Professor

Email: cdetcheverry@wisc.edu

Address:
Office: 1266 Van Hise

James Davis

Position title: Professor

Email: jldavis1@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.4810

Address:
Office: Room 2001 Mechanical Engineering

Joe Dennis

Position title: Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Email: dennis3@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1853

Address:
Office: 5135 Mosse Humanities

Laurie Dennis

Position title: Assistant Director

Email: ldennis@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.3643

Anatoly Detwyler

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: detwyler@wisc.edu

Address:
1238 Van Hise Hall

Yoriko Dixon

Position title: Japanese Studies Librarian

Email: yoriko.dixon@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.2728

Address:
Office: 412F / 312 Memorial Library

Wei Dong

Position title: Professor

Email: weidong@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.8805

Address:
Office: 3134 Nancy Nicholas Hall

David Fields

Position title: Associate Director

Email: dpfields@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.6583

Joan Fujimura

Position title: Martindale-Bascom Professor of Sociology

Email: fujimura@ssc.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.2724

Address:
Office: 7101 Sewell Social Sciences

David Furumoto

Position title: Professor

Email: furumoto@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.2723

Address:
Office: 6010 Vilas Hall

Naomi Geyer

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: nfgeyer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.9221

Address:
Office: 1260 Van Hise

Dan Gold

Position title: International Academic Programs Director

Email: daniel.gold@wisc.edu

Address:
330 Red Gym

Maggie Hawkins

Position title: Professor

Email: mhawkins@education.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.4667

Address:
Office: 514D Teacher Education

Mathew Hora

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: matthew.hora@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-5629

Address:
21 N Park St

Florence Hsia

Position title: Professor; Associate Vice Chancellor for Arts and Humanities; Assistant Dean, Graduate School

Email: fchsia@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1784

Address:
Office: 4123 Mosse Humanitie

Rania Huntington

Position title: Professor

Email: huntington@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.9216

Address:
Office: 1268 Van Hise

Jack Jiang

Position title: Professor

Email: jjjiang@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.7888

Address:
Office: Medical Sciences Center

Eunsook Jung

Position title: Director of International Programs and Faculty Associate

Email: esjung@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.2130

Address:
Office: 301 North Hall

Mark Kenoyer

Position title: George F. Dales Jr. and Barbara A. Dales Professor of Anthropology

Email: jkenoyer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5696

Address:
Office: 5402 Sewell Social Science

Adam Kern

Position title: Professor

Email: alkern@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.9592

Jampa Khedup

Position title: Senior Lecturer

Email: khedup@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5844

Address:
Office: 21 N Park St

Charles Kim

Position title: Korea Foundation Associate Professor of History; CEAS Director

Email: charles.kim@wisc.edu

Hieyoon Kim

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: hieyoon.kim@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-8735

Address:
1212 Van Hise Hall

Nam Kim

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: nckim2@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.2187

Address:
Office: 5438 Sewell Social Science

Judd Kinzley

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: kinzley@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1861

Address:
Office: 4121 Mosse Humanities

Zhenhuan (Reed) Lei

Position title: Assistant Professor of Political Science and Public Affairs

Email: zhenhuan.lei@wisc.edu

Address:
322D North Hall

Weijia Li

Position title: Assistant Professor; Director of Global Higher Education MS Program

Email: wli255@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.6784

Address:
Office: 836 Van Hise Hall

Yafei Li

Position title: Professor

Email: yafeili@wisc.edu

Address:
Office: 1158 Van Hise

Yuhang Li

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: yuhang@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1175

Address:
Office: 218 Elvehjem

Byung-Jin Lim

Position title: Director of the Korean Flagship Program; Associate Professor

Email: byungjin.lim@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.3341

Address:
Office: 1214 Van Hise

Chaeyoon Lim

Position title: Professor; Associate Chair

Email: chaeyoon.lim@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.5146

Address:
Office: 8105 Sewell Social Sciences

Ran Liu

Credentials: Assistant Professor, Educational Policy Studies (EPS)

Email: ran.liu@wisc.edu

Address:
225 Education Building, 1000 Bascom Mall

Joseph Mason

Position title: Professor; Department Chair of Geography

Email: mason@geography.wisc.edu

Address:
Office: 207 Science Hall

Antonio Mello

Position title: Frank Graner Professor in Finance; Director of the Nicholas Center for Corporate Finance and Investment Banking

Email: antonio.mello@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.3423

Address:
Office: 5249 Grainger Hall

Yuri Miyamoto

Position title: Professor

Email: ymiyamoto@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.890.1035

Address:
Office: 418 Psychology

Junko Mori

Position title: Professor

Email: jmori@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.3871

Address:
Office: 1204 Van Hise

Viren Murthy

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: vmurthy2@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1627

Address:
Office: 4108 Mosse Humanities

Takako Nakakubo

Position title: Faculty Associate

Email: tnakakubo@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.3473

Address:
Office: 1258 Van Hise

Adam Nelson

Position title: Professor of Educational Policy Studies and History

Email: anelson@education.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.2629

Address:
Office: 203 Education

William Nienhauser

Position title: Halls-Bascom Professor of Classical Chinese literature

Email: whnienha@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.3580

Address:
Office: 1208 Van Hise

Eunsil Oh

Position title: Assistant Professor of Sociology and Asian Languages and Cultures

Email: eoh26@wisc.edu

Address:
7109 Sewell Social Sciences

John Ohnesorge

Position title: George Young Bascom Professor of Law; Director for East Asian Legal Studies

Email: john.ohnesorge@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.7603

Address:
Office: 9112 Law School

Emiko Ohnuki-Tierney

Position title: William F. Vilas Professor

Email: eohnukit@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.2866

Address:
Office: 5450 Sewell Social Science

Kristopher Olds

Position title: Professor

Email: kolds@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5685

Address:
Office: 346 Science Hall

Jiwan Palta

Position title: Professor

Email: jppalta@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5782

Address:
Office: 490 Horticulture

Zhongdang Pan

Position title: Professor

Email: zhongdangpan@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.3920

Address:
Office: 6138 Vilas Hall

Soh-hyun Park Altino

Position title: Associate Professor of Violin

Email: altino@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-1907

Address:
4422 Mosse Humanities Building

Jae Park

Position title: Professor

Email: jkpark@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.7247

Address:
Office: 3230 Engineering Hall

John Pfotenhauer

Position title: Professor

Email: pfot@engr.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.4082

Address:
Office: 1329 Engineering Research

Quitman Phillips

Position title: Joan B. Mirviss Professor of Japanese Art History

Email: quphilli@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.2340

Address:
Office: 204 Elvehjem

Thomas Popkewitz

Position title: Professor

Email: tspopkew@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.7343

Address:
Office: 464B Teacher Education

Bin Ran

Position title: Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor

Email: bran@engr.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.0052

Address:
Office: 2312 Engineering Hall

Matthew Richardson

Position title: Instructor of musicology

Email: mwrichardson@wisc.edu

Address:
5541 Humanities

Steven Ridgely

Position title: Associate Professor; Department Chair

Email: steve.ridgely@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.1740

Address:
Office: 1206 Van Hise Hall

James Schauer

Position title: Professor

Email: jjschauer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.4495

Address:
Office: 115 Water Science & Engineering Lab

Guanming Shi

Position title: Professor

Email: gshi@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.6250

Address:
Office: 329 Taylor Hall

Jung-hye Shin

Position title: Associate Professor; Graduate Program Chair

Email: jshin9@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.890.3704

Address:
Office: 3138 Nancy Nicholas Hall 1300

Mark Sidel

Position title: Doyle-Bascom Professor of Law

Email: mark.sidel@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5608

Address:
Office: 6104, Law School

Enno Siemsen

Position title: Professor; Associate Dean of the MBA and Masters Programs; Executive Director of the Erdman Center for Operations & Technology Management

Email: esiemsen@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.890.3130

Address:
608.890.3130

Ben Singer

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: ben.singer@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.3923

Address:
Office: 6054 Vilas Hall

Sarah Thal

Position title: Professor

Email: thal@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.265.6033

Address:
Office: 4117 Mosse Humanities

Francois Tochon

Position title: Professor

Email: ftochon@education.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.9992

Address:
Office: 544C Teacher Education

Yi Wang

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: wang52@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-335-0933

Address:
492 Horticulture Building

Anlin Yang

Position title: Chinese and Korean Studies Librarian

Email: anlin.yang@wisc.edu

Address:
Office: 412E Memorial Library

Sijia Yang

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: syang84@wisc.edu

Jerry (Chi-Ping) Yin

Position title: Professor

Email: jcyin@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.5014

Address:
Office: 3434 Genetics/Biotech

Louise Young

Position title: Professor

Email: louiseyoung@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.263.1829

Address:
Office: 4102 Mosse Humanities

Jinwen Yu

Position title: Professor

Email: jwyu@education.wisc.edu

Phone: 608.363.6655

Address:
Office: 121 Lathrop Hall

Hongming Zhang

Position title: Professor; Director of the UW-Intensive Chinese Language Study Program

Email: hzhang6@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.2004

Address:
Office: 1216 Van Hise

Yongming Zhou

Position title: Professor

Email: yongmingzhou@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.7758

Address:
5458 Sewell Social Science

Axing Zhu

Position title: Professor

Email: azhu@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.0272

Address:
Office: 550 North Park St.

Weihua Zhu

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: wzhu34@wisc.edu

Phone: 608.262.9218

Address:
Office: 1264 Van Hise